Sri Lanka bans burqa after deadly Easter bombing, Muslim clerics cry foul


The government of Sri Lanka has banned "full face coverings" (the burqa). The country's president, Maithripala Sirisena explained that "the emergency measure would prohibit any garment which 'hinders identification' for the sake of national security." The president's office stated that "no-one should obscure their faces to make identification difficult". Other countries have also banned the burqa for the same reason.

So far, the burqa has been banned in China, Tajikistan, Morocco, Latvia, Cameroon, Congo-Brazzaville, Gabon, Chad, Austria, Denmark, Belgium, Netherlands, Bulgaria, and France. Algeria banned the burqa in the public sector last year.

Read more >